Licensing Information

Please visit our Fees page

for licensing fees.

The Nevada State Board of Cosmetology's Specialist Team manages the licensing and processing for a variety of professions. One purpose of licensing professionals and salons is to deliver a level of consumer confidence. A licensed professional has demonstrated that the individual has passed a theory test directly related to infection control procedural knowledge and minimal competency in delivering services in a safe, clean, and lawful manner. The goal of the Specialist Team is to "deliver fast, efficient, and accurate information and services to current and prospective licensed professionals".

Moving to Nevada?
Already Licensed?
Learn how to transfer your license here!
Limited License Information
Work outside of a salon
Learn about the Limited License here!

Esthetics

Scope of Practice:

An esthetician is a licensed professional that provides skin care treatment and services. The scope of practice for an esthetician in the State of Nevada is:

Beautifying, massaging, cleansing or stimulating the skin of the human body by the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions or creams, or any device, electrical or otherwise, for the care of the skin;

Applying cosmetics or eyelashes to any person, tinting eyelashes and eyebrows, and lightening hair on the body; and

Removing superfluous hair from the body of any person by the use of depilatories, waxing, tweezers or sugaring, but does not include the branches of cosmetology of a cosmetologist, hair designer, shampoo technologist, hair braider, electrologist or nail technologist.

How to Get Licensed:

If you are just starting to research a career as an esthetician, please visit our Student Resources page for more information. The esthetic program in Nevada is 600 hours in length and takes an estimated eighteen (18) weeks or less to complete at 35 hours of schooling per week.



If you are currently enrolled as an esthetics student in the State of Nevada and you have completed the practical test at your school, you must schedule for your theory and Nevada State Law Test. Please contact your school representative to schedule your tests with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology.



If you have completed hours outside the State of Nevada (out of state or out of country hours) in an esthetic program, you must pass the theory, Nevada State Law, and practical tests. You must be able to provide beauty school transcripts or documentation to be eligible for the tests. Please complete the Individual Application.



If you are licensed in another state, district, or territory you may be eligible for reciprocity (transferring your license to Nevada). Please visit our Reciprocity Information page for more information.

Reciprocity/Registration

$325 (includes test fee)

Renewal

2 years = $70 or 4 years = $140

Testing

$125

Processing TImes

1-5 Business Days

Cosmetology

Scope of Practice:

A cosmetologist is a licensed professional that provides hair, skin, and nail care treatment and services. The scope of practice for a cosmetologist in the State of Nevada is:

Cleansing, stimulating or massaging the scalp or cleansing or beautifying the hair by the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions or creams;

Cutting, trimming or shaping the hair;

Arranging, dressing, curling, waving, cleansing, singeing, bleaching, tinting, coloring or straightening the hair of any person with the hands, mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances, or by other means, or similar work incident to or necessary for the proper carrying on of the practice or occupation;

Manicuring the nails of any person;

Beautifying, massaging, stimulating or cleansing the skin of the human body by the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams or any device, electrical or otherwise, for the care of the skin;

Giving facials or skin care or applying cosmetics or eyelashes to any person;

Applying cosmetics or eyelashes to any person, tinting eyelashes and eyebrows, and lightening hair on the body; and

Removing superfluous hair from the surface of the body of any person by the use of electrolysis where the growth is a blemish, or by the use of depilatories, waxing, tweezers or sugaring, except for the permanent removal of hair with needles.

How to Get Licensed:

If you are just starting to research a career as a cosmetologist, please visit our Student Resources page for more information. The cosmetology program in Nevada is 1,600 hours in length and takes an estimated fifty (50) weeks or less to complete at 35 hours of schooling per week.



If you are currently enrolled as a cosmetology student in the State of Nevada and you have completed the practical test at your school, you must schedule for your theory and Nevada State Law Test. Please contact your school representative to schedule your tests with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology.



If you have completed hours outside the State of Nevada (out of state or out of country hours) in a cosmetology program, you must pass the theory, Nevada State Law, and practical tests. You must be able to provide beauty school transcripts or documentation to be eligible for the tests. Please complete the Individual Application. Please be sure to contact the school you attended and have the school send us a breakdown of the subjects via email, fax, or regular mail.

If you are licensed in another state, district, or territory you may be eligible for reciprocity (transferring your license to Nevada). Please visit our Reciprocity Information page for more information.

Reciprocity/Registration

$325 (includes test fee)

Renewal

2 years = $70 or 4 years = $140

Testing

$125

Processing TImes

1-5 Business Days

Nail Technology

Scope of Practice:

A nail technologist is a licensed professional that engages in the practice of nail care treatment and services. The scope of practice for a nail technologist in the State of Nevada is:

Care of another’s fingernails or toenails;

Beautification of another’s nails;

Extension of another’s nails; and

Massaging of another’s hands, forearms, feet or lower legs.

How to Get Licensed:

If you are just starting to research careers as a nail technologist, please visit our Student Resources page for more information. The nail technology program in Nevada is 600 hours in length and takes an estimated eighteen (18) weeks or less to complete at 35 hours of schooling per week.



If you are currently enrolled as a nail technology student in the State of Nevada and you have completed the practical test at your school, you must schedule for your theory and Nevada State Law Test. Please contact your school representative to schedule your tests with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology.



If you have completed hours outside the State of Nevada (out of state or out of country hours) in a nail technology program, you must pass the theory, Nevada State Law, and practical tests. You must be able to provide beauty school transcripts or documentation to be eligible for the tests. Please complete the Individual Application.



If you are licensed in another state, district, or territory you may be eligible for reciprocity (transferring your license to Nevada). Please visit our Reciprocity Information page for more information.

Reciprocity/Registration

$325 (includes test fee)

Renewal

2 years = $70 or 4 years = $140

Testing

$125

Processing TImes

1-5 Business Days

Hair Design

Scope of Practice:

A hair designer is a licensed professional that engages in the practice of hair care treatment and services. The scope of practice for a hair designer in the State of Nevada is:

Cleansing, stimulating or massaging the scalp, or cleansing or beautifying the hair by the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions or creams;

Cutting, trimming or shaping the hair; and

Arranging, dressing, curling, waving, cleansing, singeing, bleaching, tinting, coloring or straightening the hair of any person with the hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances, or by other means or similar work incident to or necessary for the proper carrying on of the practice or occupation.​

How to Get Licensed:

If you are just starting to research a career as a hair designer, please visit our Student Resources page for more information. The hair design program in Nevada is 1,000 hours in length and takes an estimated twenty-nine (29) weeks or less to complete at 35 hours of schooling per week.



If you are currently enrolled as a hair design student in the State of Nevada and you have completed the practical test at your school, you must schedule for your theory and Nevada State Law Test. Please contact your school representative to schedule your tests with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology.



If you have completed hours outside the State of Nevada (out of state or out of country hours) in a hair design program, you must pass the theory, Nevada State Law, and practical tests. You must be able to provide beauty school transcripts or documentation to be eligible for the tests. Please complete the Individual Application.



If you are licensed in another state, district, or territory you may be eligible for reciprocity (transferring your license to Nevada). Please visit our Reciprocity Information page for more information.

Reciprocity/Registration

$325 (includes test fee)

Renewal

2 years = $70 or 4 years = $140

Testing

$125

Processing TImes

1-5 Business Days

Hair Braiding

Scope of Practice:

A hair braider is a licensed professional that engages in the practice of hair braiding. The scope of practice for a hair braider in the State of Nevada is:

The natural form of hair manipulation by braiding, cornrowing, extending, lacing, locking, sewing, twisting, weaving or wrapping human hair, natural fibers, synthetic fibers and hair extensions. The practice may be performed by hand or by using simple braiding devices, including, without limitation, clips, combs, hairpins, scissors, needles and thread.;

Cleansing the scalp; and

The making of customized wigs from natural hair, natural fibers, synthetic fibers and hair extensions.

The scope of practice for hair braider does not include:

The use of penetrating chemical hair treatments, chemical hair coloring agents, chemical hair straightening agents, chemical hair joining agents, permanent wave styles or chemical hair bleaching agents applied to growing human hair;

The cutting or growing of human hair, except that the term includes the trimming of hair extensions or sewn weave-in extensions only as applicable to the braiding process; or

Any other activity defined as cosmetology.

How to Get Licensed:

If you have a signed affidavit that you have performed hair braiding services (described above) for at least one (1) year on a relative (6th degree of consanguinity), you are eligible to take the theory, Nevada State Law, and practical tests. Once you pass the hair braiding tests, you will receive the license.

Please complete the Individual Application If you are licensed in another state, district, or territory you may be eligible for reciprocity (transferring your license to Nevada). Please visit our Reciprocity Information page for more information.

Reciprocity/Registration

$325 (includes test fee)

Renewal

2 years = $70 or 4 years = $140

Testing

$125

Processing TImes

1-5 Business Days

Instructor

Scope of Practice:

An instructor is licensed to instruct students enrolled at a licensed beauty school.

How to Get Licensed:

If you are currently enrolled as a student instructor or a provisional instructor in the State of Nevada and you have completed your training hours, you must schedule for our theory and Nevada State Law tests. Please contact your school representative to schedule your tests with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology.

If you are interested in becoming a licensed instructor, please contact a licensed school.

If you are licensed in another state, district, or territory you may be eligible for reciprocity (transferring your license to Nevada). Please visit our Reciprocity Information page for more information.

Reciprocity/Registration

$325 (includes test fee)

Renewal

2 years = $70 or 4 years = $140

Testing

$125

Processing TImes

1-5 Business Days

Student Instructor

Scope of Practice:

A student instructor is a licensed educator-in-training. They must be supervised by a licensed instructor when instructing students.

How to Get Licensed:

The student instructor program is 700 hours in length and takes an estimated twenty (20) weeks or less to complete at 35 hours of schooling per week.

Please contact a school representative for more information regarding an instructor career.

Reciprocity/Registration

$55

Renewal

NA

Testing

NA

Processing TImes

1-5 Business Days

Provisional Instructor (PIL)

Scope of Practice:

A provisional instructor is a licensed instructor-in-training. They must be supervised by a licensed instructor.

How to Get Licensed:

If you are interested in becoming a licensed instructor in the State of Nevada, you must first have a current cosmetology, nail technology, aesthetics, or hair design license and have one year of salon experience.

The provisional instructor program is 500 hours in length and takes an estimated fifteen (15) weeks or less to complete at 35 hours of schooling per week.

Please contact a school representative for more information regarding an instructor career.

Reciprocity/Registration

$85

Renewal

NA

Testing

NA

Processing TImes

NA

Shampoo Technology

Scope of Practice:

A shampoo technologist is a licensed professional that engages in the practice of shampoo technology under the immediate supervision of a licensed cosmetologist. The scope of practice for a shampoo technologist in the State of Nevada is:

Cleansing of the hair or scalp, including, without limitation:

Brushing and combing the hair;

Applying shampoo and conditioner to the hair; and

Rinsing the hair, including, without limitation, rinsing the hair to remove shampoos, conditioners, tints, relaxers, and other solutions.

Removing rollers, permanent rods, hairpins, clips or similar hair fasteners from the hair;

Cleaning and disinfecting the shampoo bowl

How to Get Licensed:

The shampoo technologist program is an online course delivered by Milady. You may register for the online course on the Application Page.​

Even without training in hair services, you are eligible to take the Shampoo Technology Course delivered by Milady. Once the course has been successfully completed, you are eligible to take the Nevada State Law Test in order to obtain your license. Please complete the Individual Application and by passing the Nevada State Law Test.



If you are currently enrolled in a cosmetology or hair design program in the State of Nevada and you have completed at least 50 hours in your school, you are eligible to take the Nevada State Law Test in order to obtain your license. Please contact your school representative to schedule your tests with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology.

If you are licensed in another state, district, or territory you may be eligible for reciprocity (transferring your license to Nevada). Please visit our Reciprocity Information page for more information.

Reciprocity/Registration

$325 (includes test fee)

Renewal

2 years + $50 or 4years = $100

Testing

$50

Processing TImes

NA

Makeup Artistry

Scope of Practice:

A makeup artist is a registered individual that provides beautification of the skin by the use of makeup and other skin pigmentation-changing products. The scope of practice for a makeup artist in the State of Nevada is:

The practice of applying makeup or prosthetics for theatrical, television, film and other similar productions; all aspects of the modeling and fashion industry, including, without limitation, photography for magazines; and weddings.



**This does not permit the application of eyelashes or extensions.**

How to Get Licensed:

Please complete the Makeup Artist/Threader Registration.

Reciprocity/Registration

$25

Renewal

NA

Testing

NA

Processing TImes

NA

Threading

Scope of Practice:

A threader is a registered individual that provides threading services for the removal of hair. The scope of practice for a threader in the State of Nevada is:

The removal of superfluous hair from the body of a person by twisting thread around the hair and pulling it from the skin.

How to Get Licensed:

Please complete the Makeup Artist/Threader Registration.

Reciprocity/Registration

$25

Renewal

NA

Testing

NA

Processing TImes

NA

Demonstrator of Cosmetics

Scope of Practice:

A demonstrator of cosmetics is a licensed professional that demonstrates the application of cosmetics in a licensed salon for the sole purpose of selling cosmetics.

How to Get Licensed:

You may apply for an infection control test and the Nevada State Law Test by completing the Individual Application.

If you are licensed in another state, district, or territory you may be eligible for reciprocity (transferring your license to Nevada). Please visit our Reciprocity Information page for more information.

Reciprocity/Registration

$325 (includes test fee)

Renewal

2 years = $70 or 4 years = $140

Testing

$125

Processing TImes

1-5 Business Days