Salon Information

Opening a salon with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology can be a simple process. The law requires prospective salon owners to submit a Salon Application twenty (20) days before the scheduled opening date. We typically complete Salon Opening Inspections within 3-7 business days after the application has been processed.

Before submitting a Salon Application, it is important for a prospective salon owner to be familiar with the rules and regulations in the State of Nevada. The Salon Opening Checklist (below) summarizes the requirements for passing an opening inspection.

Once a prospective salon owner is in compliance with the Salon Opening Checklist and the rules and regulations, a Salon Application should be submitted in a timely manner in order for a Salon Opening Inspection to be performed before the scheduled opening date. This inspection is scheduled between the Inspection Team and the salon owner and/or representatives.

At the time of the inspection, the inspector will review the Salon Opening Checklist to ensure that the salon is in compliance. If the salon is in compliance, the salon license will be issued. If the salon is not in compliance with the Salon Opening Checklist (see below), then the salon owner must correct the items not in compliance. If a salon fails a Salon Opening Inspection, a Salon Re-Inspection Fee of $25.00 must be paid in order for another inspection to be scheduled.

It is important that you contact your local/city/county/state government agencies for any applicable licensing requirements. The licensing fees collected by the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology are used directly to manage the operations of our Inspection Services and Testing Services which are designed to reduce the risk of unsafe, unsanitary, and unlawful practices in the beauty-service industry by insuring competent individuals are practicing in safe and clean salons.

Salon License Renewal

Salon Owner Resources