Laws & Regulations

gavel.png
case.png
accept.png

The laws and regulations that enforce consumer protection are the Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 644A, and Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 644A.

The laws and regulations are approved by the Nevada State Legislature, the Board Members contribute to the democratic process by formally addressing complaints, violation appeals, law and regulation revision reviews, and determining proper disciplinary action for unsafe practices at Board Meetings.

If you are interested in formally addressing the Board to review a law or regulation, appeal a violation, or for any other reason please complete the Petition to Appear Before the Board.

Violation Fines

NAC 644A.860

Operating an establishment without a license

1st Offense:

$1,000

2nd Offense:

$1,500

3rd Offense:

$2,000

NAC 644A.860

Operating an establishment with an expired license

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Allowing a licensee to work with an expired license (per person)

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Failure to display license in place of business

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Allowing an unlicensed person to work in an establishment

1st Offense:

$1,000

2nd Offense:

$1,500

3rd Offense:

$2,000

NAC 644A.860

Operating an establishment without supervision by a licensed person

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Operating an establishment with an animal on the premises

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Refusal to allow staff of the Board to inspect any licensed space

1st Offense:

$1,000

2nd Offense:

$2,000

3rd Offense:

Board Review

NAC 644A.860

Practicing with an expired license or registration

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Failure to display license or registration at a work station

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Failure to practice in a cosmetological establishment, unless the person holds a limited license to do so

1st Offense:

$500

2nd Offense:

$1,000

3rd Offense:

$2,000

NAC 644A.860

Failure to comply with NAC 644A.790

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Using advertisements which contain knowingly false or deceptive statements or otherwise engaging in acts described in subsection 2 of NAC 644A.870

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$200

3rd Offense:

$500

NAC 644A.860

Failure to display a certificate of registration in plain view

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Failure to wear a badge while working

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Working on the public without a supervising cosmetologist, hair designer, esthetician, nail technologist or electrologist, as appropriate, present

1st Offense:

$500

2nd Offense:

$1,000

3rd Offense:

$2,000

NAC 644A.860

Allowing an apprentice to work if his or her certificate of registration is not displayed in plain view

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Allowing an apprentice to work if the apprentice is not wearing his or her badge

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Allowing an apprentice to work on the public without being present to supervise the apprentice

1st Offense:

$500

2nd Offense:

$1,000

3rd Offense:

$2,000

NAC 644A.860

Failure to comply with NAC 644A.330

1st Offense:

$500

2nd Offense:

$1,000

3rd Offense:

$2,000

NAC 644A.860

Failure to meet a requirement to engage in the practice of makeup artistry in this State

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Failure to comply with NRS 644A.735, subsection 1 of NRS 644A.740, paragraph (b) of subsection 2 of NRS 644A.740 or NAC 644A.603

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Practicing without a license or certificate

1st Offense:

$1,000

2nd Offense:

$1,500

3rd Offense:

$2,000

NAC 644A.860

Copying or altering a license or certificate for purposes of fraud, deception, misrepresentation or other illegal purpose

1st Offense:

$200

2nd Offense:

$500

3rd Offense:

$1,000

NAC 644A.860

Using a copied or altered license or certificate for purposes of fraud, deception, misrepresentation or other illegal purpose

1st Offense:

$1,000

2nd Offense:

$2,000

3rd Offense:

Board Review

NAC 644A.700

Failing to maintain clean and sanitary drinking fountains, coolers, and/or refreshment center

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.765

Failing to properly wash hands before and after servicing each client

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.740

Failing to have sanitation and disinfection products available for immediate use

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.740

Failing to apply infection prevention procedures on instruments, implements, and other tools {sanitation and disinfection process}

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.755

Failing to apply or maintain cosmetics and other preparations

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.740

Failing to properly dispose of single-use instruments after use on a client

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.720

Failing to properly maintain walls, floors, ceilings, furnishings, equipment, and fixtures in a salon

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.715

Failing to maintain adequate restrooms

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.730

Failing to properly maintain headrests, shampoo bowls, towels/lines, or treatment tables and use of neck strips

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.725

Failing to have a dispensary sink or maintain plumbing

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.710

Failing to have an acceptable exhaust system. (NAC 644.315)

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.705

Failing to properly dispose waste. (NAC 644.313)

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100

NAC 644A.860

Refusing to allow staff of the Board to perform an inspection. (NAC 644.700)

1st Offense:

$100

2nd Offense:

$100

3rd Offense:

$100