I recently graduated/am transferring my license. Where can I find study information for the test(s) I am required to take?
Please visit the testing information page of our website
Do I need to schedule an appointment to take the Nevada State Law Exam?
The Nevada State Law Exam can be taken on a walk-in basis. No appointment is necessary. Walk-in testing for the Nevada State Law Exam is offered on Monday through Thursday between 8am and 4pm.
If I completed my Nevada school hours, but never tested or obtained my license, are my hours still valid for testing or do hours expire?
If the program was completed, the hours will never expire and will be acceptable to take your exams. If the program was not completed or only partially completed, the hours will expire four (4) years after the last date of attendance.
I tested previously to obtain my license, but did not complete the licensing process. Do my passing test scores ever expire?
Passing test scores on file do not expire. You will need to retake any applicable exams that have not been previously passed or recorded as passed.
I have a learning disability. What do I need to do in order to be accommodated for my theory and law exams?
Please supply either Board Offices at the time of applying a copy of an IEP (Independent Education Plan) or a letter from a doctor stating the exact accommodation that may be needed. After these documents are reviewed, you will need to set up a date and time for you and the person from the Board office assisting you to complete your exams.
I am a student and I have passed the practical, theory and law exams. How long do I have to pay the license fee?
In order to work in the State of Nevada you must hold a current and active license. You will not be able to work until the initial license fee is paid and you have obtained your license. There is no set time required to make your initial license payment.
I am obtaining a license via reciprocity in Nevada and have been licensed for many years in my state. Am I able to be excused from taking the Nevada State Law Exam based on the amount of years I have been licensed or based on experience?
No, the Nevada Law Exam is required for all reciprocity applicants, regardless of length of licensure or experience in the field.
Am I able to use a translator for my exam(s)?
A court-certified translator may only be used if the tests are not available in the testing applicant’s natural language or language of choice. Applicants cannot have a translator for the practical exam. The theory and Nevada State Law tests are offered in the following languages and the use of a translator is prohibited:
- English (effective Feb. 26, 2018)
- Spanish (effective Feb. 26, 2018)
- Vietnamese (effective Feb. 26, 2018)
- Korean (effective June 2018)
- Simplified Chinese (effective June 2018)
Applicants are not allowed to pay the translator directly. Payment must be submitted through either Board offices and payments will be disbursed accordingly within 7 to 14 business days. If found that the translator was paid directly or paid an additional fee, disciplinary actions will be taken.
I am unable to keep my scheduled exam appointment. How can I reschedule? Is there a fee?
If you need to reschedule your exams, please contact our offices within 48 hours of your appointment or you will be subject to a $95 retake/reschedule fee. The Reno Testing Department can be reached at firstname.lastname@example.org. The Las Vegas Testing Department can be reached at email@example.com.
I did not pass my exam(s). What do I need to do to retake the test(s)?
In order to reschedule and retake your exam(s), you must pay a $95 retake fee. A new testing date and time will be scheduled when the retake fee is processed. You cannot reschedule without paying the retake fee. Practical exam segment retakes must be completed within thirty (30) days or the full practical exam must be retaken.
I am an applicant scheduled to take the practical exam at the Board office. What do I need in my kit for the practical exam? Will the Board office provide me with anything for my practical?
Kit requirements and tools/products needed for the practical are listed on practical test information page. The Board office will not provide you with products or tools for the practical exam*. This includes mannequin head(s) and mannequin clamp/stand.
*If you do not have a UV Lamp for the gel nail service segment of the cosmetology or nail technology practical, please let the testing department know when scheduling your exams. We may be able to accommodate you.
I have failed the exam(s) multiple times. How many times can I take the test?
There is no limit on the amount of time an individual can take the required exam(s). A retake fee of $95 is due for each retake test